es ist noch nicht alles verloren

The sign above the Lost Property office at Wuppertal station proclaims: “es ist noch nicht alles verloren!” (“All is not lost!”) With this phrase in mind, Klarafestival 2021 has slowly but surely taken form. It is a response to the pandemic that is currently gripping the world. Because of this, Klarafestival 2021 will be a digital festival featuring 12 different audiovisual projects: familiar classics, forgotten gems and a good number of new pieces to offer hope and comfort. We’re also looking ahead. Can we maintain the same relationship with our environment in the post-coronavirus era? What can, and must, be done differently? Discover more from 13 until 22 March here on our website.  

The previous edition of Klarafestival, reduced to a single day, was the starting point for a period of intense change. Our self-image, formed during the Enlightenment – that the human is a rational being, distinct from the rest of nature, privileged and free – took a severe knock. We were sent back into nature as an organism that is sensitive to environmental factors, totally dependent and inextricably connected with the great network of nature. Bad news for human vanity, as the German author Philipp Blom described the corona pandemic. But it could also be a shared experience, a communal resonance chamber that could form the breeding ground for a new way of behaving.   

Only a crisis – actual or perceived – produces real change.
milton friedman

The crisis as an opportunity

“Only a crisis – actual or perceived – produces real change,” was the adage of the American economist Milton Friedman. And it was true: for many, the first weeks of lockdown were a welcome break, a time to take stock, reflect, and question the lives that they were living. In many cases, this period of reorientation resulted in significant life choices being made.    


Klarafestival also underwent a period of intense reflection. In which direction do we want to be heading over the coming years? How do we ensure that both the musicians on the stage and the audience in the hall represent our society better? Which projects do we want to undertake to put ourselves on the map? And, perhaps most importantly of all: what can we do for those people who don’t have the luxury of being able to reflect, but have to fight for their very survival?  
 

a changing society

However, Friedman’s quote does not relate solely to individuals and organisations, but society as a whole. Recent history offers plenty of examples of moments of crisis leading to drastic social reforms.

   
In her book The Shock Doctrine, the Canadian philosopher, activist and publicist Naomi Klein examines how Margaret Thatcher only gained support for her neoliberal programme after winning the Falklands War; how the attacks on the twin towers led to the present American security state; and how the development of the Sri Lankan coastline into a tourist paradise only really got going after the tsunami in 2004 – when local fishermen were forced to rebuild their homes further inland.   


The democratic vacuum that usually arises after a serious crisis is all too often exploited to push through agendas that are sensitive to public opinion, according to Naomi Klein’s analysis. In her view, we should be wary today of a further shrinking of the public domain, the fragmentation of our welfare state and a ‘no-touch’ future, which will be extremely profitable for only a couple of companies.   


It is the responsibility of citizens to ensure that these crises do not catapult us backwards but forwards. Cultural events like Klarafestival can contribute significantly to the public debate: raising voices that would not otherwise be heard, adding to the cultural debate with sensory experiences, and reminding ourselves through the nurturing and ongoing development of our artistic heritage that the emotions we are experiencing now have been felt before.   

The democratic vacuum that usually arises after a serious crisis is all too often exploited to push through agendas that are sensitive to public opinion.
naomi klein

Dealing with both the coronavirus crisis and the climate crisis 

“Es ist noch nicht alles verloren” – relates not only to the current health crisis, but also to the climate crisis that we are experiencing today. A renewed focus on and care for our habitat is an essential part of a sustainable society. Music can reconnect us with nature. After all, compositions are often nothing more than the record of an observation of nature, an attempt to capture the rising of the sun in sound, or a musical translation of the sound of the wind.  


While preparing for Klarafestival 2021, the word ‘connect’ came to mind, as we as people are ultimately all in the same boat, and only collective efforts can provide a solution to the coronavirus and climate crises. Sharing our experiences, whether or not they are sublimated in music or literature, can have a cathartic effect, offer hope, and maybe even solutions. A second word that came up over time, based on the observation that we are capable of huge collective efforts and that the human being is an incredibly creative creature, is ‘resilience’. After all, unlike animals, people are able to organise themselves in order to deal with the most difficult problems.

 

Natural idyll

Klarafestival 2021 opens with Songs of Nature, a production by B’Rock and Muziektheater Transparant. In the eighteenth century, people started to look at nature through a very different lens. Handel’s Neun deutsche Arien, performed by soprano Ilse Eerens, bear witness to this. Songs of Nature analyses the early Romantic roots of climate awareness.  


Nearly two centuries later, the Romantic era culminated in the work of Gustav Mahler, a composer who drew inspiration from nature more than any other. The numerous composing huts he had built in Austria are echoes of Thoreau’s hut on Walden Pond. The Brussels ensemble Het Collectief performs Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde in an arrangement by the recently-deceased pianist, conductor and composer Reinbert de Leeuw.


The Romantic country idyll was not to last. The Antwerp Symphony Orchestra conducted by Edo de Waart juxtaposes Wagner’s Siegfried-Idyll – in which birds chirp as the sun gently rises – with Richard Strauss’ Metamorphosen. This composition for 23 string instruments, a lament written around the end of the Second World War, heralded the dawning of a new era.  

Ictus and the Brussels Philharmonic string section perform several minimalist masterpieces that show a very different side to nature. Charles Ives’ The Unanswered Question introduces us to the unending nature of the universe, while Gavin Bryars takes us down into the depths of the ocean in The Sinking of the Titanic.

New talent

How must we go on, after the sinking of the Titanic and the downfall of Romance? Young talent leads the way. At Klarafestival’s request, the instrumentalists of Berlin’s STEGREIF.orchester put their ears to the ground in a number of European countries and wrote down stories which then formed the basis for new compositions. An idiosyncratic version of Beethoven’s Ode to Joy, hummed wordlessly, finally draws everything together. Prior to this unique concert – live from Berlin – Juri De Marco, artistic director of the STEGREIF.orchester, holds a discussion with a group of EU interns.  


Alongside the European presence, the face of Brussels is defined largely by the people of the city themselves. Five Molenbeek organisations, in partnership with Klarafestival, BOZAR and the Municipality of Molenbeek have worked with local talent to develop artistic programmes together. The MUSIKAA project is the first step towards an inclusive, sustainable and inspiring story. Discover the results online or by scanning QR codes on a walking route through Molenbeek!


Young talent can also be heard at the SUPERNOVA winner’s concert. The Desguin Kwartet from Antwerp rediscovered Peter Benoit’s only string quartet. Trio Aries performs Schönberg‘s Verklärte Nacht in an arrangement by Eduard Steuermann.
 

Gesualdo and Piazzolla

It’s the aim of Klarafestival to provide comfort and hope. Two composers who wrote exceptionally moving music can help with that: Carlo Gesualdo and Astor Piazzolla (who was born exactly a hundred years ago in March 2021). The Collegium Vocale Gent tackles Gesualdo’s Fifth Book of Madrigals under the direction of Philippe Herreweghe in Flagey. In BOZAR, SONICO and the Orquesta Tanguedia pay tribute to Astor Piazzolla, the grandmaster of the tango. Italian renaissance music and Argentinian joie de vivre help take our minds off the present, just for a moment.   

Creations

How do artists respond to the world we live in today? In recent months, Klarafestival has commissioned a large number of artists to create new work. Sound & Vision compiles the results of seven duos - each comprising a composer and a visual artist - who have each created their own audiovisual project. Anouk De Clercq, Frederik Croene, Wim Hendrickx and Eva-Maria Houben are just some of the names on the programme.   


De oude woorden… brings Klarafestival 2021 to a close. In partnership with the Passa Porta Festival, we invited Dutch author Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer (author of Grand Hotel Europa and more) to write a new idyll. As a resident of Genoa, he had a front-row seat at the start of the pandemic in Europe.  Based on Pfeijffer’s long narrative poem, Frederik Neyrinck has written a piece that will be performed by several players from I SOLISTI with soprano Lore Binon and actor Josse De Pauw.
 

Context

A lot of additional information on these digital performances will appear over the coming weeks on the Klarafestival website, in the form of a festival programme. What can you expect? Interviews, podcasts and a video series looking at how artists have brought ‘es ist noch nicht alles verloren’ to fruition.


In partnership with Muntpunt, Klarafestival has also organised a discussion around the central issue of what personal engagement can mean in times of crisis. Composer Saskia Venegas Aernouts, climate scientist and UC Louvain Professor Jean-Pascal van Ypersele and Eka van Beeren, an active member of the radical environmental movement Extinction Rebellion, will get together to discuss this. The talk will be preceded by the performance of a composition by Saskia Venegas Aernouts.


Keep an eye on our website and social media for updates! Together with you, we look forward to what promises to be a unique edition of Klarafestival.

es ist noch nicht alles verloren

Dans la gare de Wuppertal, au-dessus de la porte du service des objets trouvés, figure l’inscription : « es ist noch nicht alles verloren ! » (« Tout n’est pas encore perdu ! ») C’est avec cette maxime à l’esprit que le Klarafestival a lentement mais sûrement pris forme. Comme une réponse à la pandémie qui s’est emparée du monde. C’est pourquoi le Klarafestival 2021 sera une édition numérique avec pas moins de 12 projets audiovisuels différents. De grands classiques, des perles oubliées et une multitude de nouvelles œuvres apporteront espoir et réconfort. Mais notre regard est également tourné vers l’avenir. Garderons-nous la même relation à notre environnement dans l’ère post-coronavirus ? Que pouvons-nous faire et que devons-nous changer ?

L’édition précédente du Klarafestival, réduite à un seul jour, a marqué le début d’une période particulièrement chamboulée. Notre image de nous-mêmes, façonnée par le mouvement des Lumières – qui veut que l’homme est un être rationnel, distinct du reste de la nature, privilégié et libre – en a pris un sacré coup. Nous avons été replacés dans la nature comme un organisme sensible aux facteurs environnementaux, totalement dépendant et indissociablement lié à ce grand ensemble qu’est la nature. Mauvaise nouvelle pour la vanité humaine, comme disait l’écrivain Philipp Blom à propos de la pandémie du coronavirus. Mais il s’agit peut-être aussi d’une expérience partagée, d’une caisse de résonance commune susceptible de constituer le terreau d’un nouveau type de comportement.

Seule une crise – réelle ou perçue comme telle – engendre un réel changement.
milton friedman

La crise comme opportunité

« Seule une crise – réelle ou perçue comme telle – engendre un réel changement », tel était l’adage de l’économiste américain Milton Friedman. Et en effet, nombreux sont ceux qui ont vécu le premier confinement comme une pause arrivant à point nommé, une période de réflexion, le temps d’un bilan et du questionnement de notre mode de vie. Cette période de ressourcement a d’ailleurs souvent débouché sur d’importants choix de vie.


Le Klarafestival a lui aussi connu une période de réflexion intense. Quelle sera notre direction au cours des prochaines années ? Comment pouvons-nous faire en sorte que tant les musiciens que la scène et le public présent dans la salle constituent davantage encore un reflet de notre société ? Par quels types de projets souhaitons-nous nous identifier ? Et le plus important peut-être : que pouvons-nous faire pour toutes ces personnes qui n’ont pas le luxe de pouvoir réfléchir et doivent lutter pour survivre ?

 

une société en évolution

La citation de Friedman ne concerne cependant pas uniquement les individus et organisations, mais avant tout la société dans son ensemble. L’histoire récente foisonne d’exemples de moments de crise ayant entraîné d’importants changements sociétaux.


Dans son ouvrage The Shock Doctrine, la philosophe, activiste et publiciste canadienne Naomi Klein analyse comment Margaret Thatcher n’a obtenu le soutien nécessaire à son programme néolibéral qu’après la victoire britannique lors de la guerre des Malouines ; comment les attaques des tours jumelles ont mené à la politique de sécurité américaine actuelle ; et comment la transformation du littoral du Sri Lanka en un paradis touristique n’a réellement été entamée qu’après le tsunami de 2004 – les pêcheurs locaux étant alors contraints de reconstruire leurs maisons plus loin à l’intérieur des terres.


Selon l’analyse de Naomi Klein, le vide démocratique suivant généralement une crise majeure est trop souvent exploité pour faire passer des mesures sensibles vis-à-vis de l’opinion publique. Selon elle, nous devons aujourd’hui craindre entre autres une plus grande réduction de la sphère publique, le détricotage de notre état-providence et un avenir « sans contact », extrêmement lucratif pour une poignée d’entreprises seulement.


Il est de la responsabilité des citoyens de veiller à ce que les crises nous propulsent, non pas en arrière, mais bien en avant, et de façon collective. Les événements culturels comme le Klarafestival peuvent provoquer d’importantes impulsions dans le débat public : laisser s’exprimer des voix qui ne seraient pas entendues dans d’autres contextes, enrichir le débat intellectuel par des expériences sensorielles et, par la valorisation et la transformation de notre patrimoine artistique, nous rappeler que les émotions que nous vivons aujourd’hui ont déjà été ressenties par le passé.

Le vide démocratique suivant généralement une crise majeure est trop souvent exploité pour faire passer des mesures sensibles vis-à-vis de l’opinion publique.
naomi klein

Aborder à la fois la crise du coronavirus et la crise climatique

« Es ist noch nicht alles verloren » ne fait pas uniquement référence à la crise sanitaire actuelle, mais également et surtout à la crise climatique que nous traversons aujourd’hui. Le retour à l’attention et au souci de notre cadre de vie est un élément indispensable d’une société durable. La musique a le pouvoir de renforcer ce lien avec la nature. En effet, les compositions ne sont souvent rien d’autre que la conséquence d’une observation de la nature, comme la tentative d’évoquer en musique le lever du soleil ou la traduction musicale du bruissement du vent.


Lors de la préparation du Klarafestival 2021 le premier mot qui nous est venu à l’esprit est « réunir », car finalement, nous, êtres humains, sommes tous dans le même bateau, et seuls les efforts collectifs peuvent apporter une solution, tant à la crise sanitaire qu’au réchauffement climatique. Le partage d’expériences, sublimées ou non par la littérature ou la musique, peut s’avérer cathartique, apporter le réconfort, l’espoir et qui sait, peut-être même des solutions. Un deuxième mot qui a progressivement émergé, par l’observation des énormes efforts collectifs dont nous sommes capables et de l’incroyable créativité de l’être humain, est le mot « résilience ».  En effet, les êtres humains sont capables de s’organiser et donc de faire face aux problèmes les plus complexes.

 

Idylle naturelle

Le Klarafestival 2021 débute avec Songs of Nature, une production de B’Rock et Muziektheater Transparant. Aux dix-huitième siècle, l’homme a commencé à envisager la nature avec un regard totalement différent. Les Neun deutsche Arien de Händel, interprétés par la soprano Ilse Eerens, en sont la preuve. Songs of Nature analyse les racines romantiques précoces de notre conscience environnementale.


Près de deux siècles plus tard, le romantisme culmina dans les œuvres de Gustav Mahler, un compositeur qui, plus que tout autre, s’est inspiré de la nature. Les différentes petites maisons de composition qu’il fit construire en Autriche sont autant d’échos à la cabane de Thoreau au bord de l’étang de Walden. L’ensemble bruxellois Het Collectief interprète Das Lied von der Erde de Mahler dans un arrangement du pianiste, chef d’orchestre et compositeur récemment décédé, Reinbert de Leeuw.


Mais les idylles naturelles romantiques n’étaient que de courte durée. L’Antwerp Symphony Orchestra sour la direction d’Edo de Waart confronte l’Idylle de Siegfried de Wagner – évoquant le gazouillis des oiseaux comme le lever du soleil – aux Métamorphoses de Richard Strauss. Cette composition pour 23 cordes, un lamento écrit juste après la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale, annonce une nouvelle ère.


Ictus et les cordes du Brussels Philharmonic présentent quelques chefs-d'œuvre minimalistes révélant une toute autre facette de la nature. The Unanswered Question de Charles Ives nous fait découvrir l’infinité de l’univers, tandis qu’avec The Sinking of the Titanic, Gavin Bryars  nous emmène dans les profondeurs de l’océan.

Jeunes artistes

Qu’allons-nous devenir après le naufrage du Titanic et le déclin du romantisme ? Faisons confiance aux jeunes artistes. À la demande du Klarafestival, les instrumentistes de la formation berlinoise STEGREIF.orchester ont tendu l’oreille vers différents pays d’Europe et créé des histoires à partir desquelles ils ont ensuite développé de nouvelles compositions. L’Ode à la joie de Beethoven, musée sans paroles et adaptée de façon originale, rétablira finalement le lien. En prélude à ce concert particulier – en direct depuis Berlin – Juri De Marco, directeur artistique du STEGREIF.orchester, débattra avec quelques stagiaires de l’UE.
En-dehors de la présence européenne, ce sont avant tout les Bruxellois qui façonnent les contours de leur ville. En collaboration avec le Klarafestival, BOZAR et la commune de Molenbeek, cinq organisations molenbeekoises ont développé autant de projets artistiques avec des artistes locaux. Le projet MUSIKAA est une première étape dans le sens d’un récit inclusif, durable et inspirant. Découvrez les résultats en ligne ou en scannant les codes QR placés sur le parcours d’une promenade dans Molenbeek.


Vous pourrez également entendre de jeunes talents lors du concert des lauréats de SUPERNOVA. Le quatuor anversois Desguin redécouvre le seul quatuor à cordes de Peter Benoit. Le Trio Aries interprète la Nuit transfigurée de Schönberg dans un arrangement d’Eduard Steuermann.

 

Gesualdo et Piazzolla

Le Klarafestival veut apporter espoir et réconfort. Deux compositeurs, qui ont créé des œuvres particulièrement marquantes, peuvent s’avérer d’un grand secours : Carlo Gesualdo et Astor Piazzolla (qui aurait tout juste cent ans en mars 2021). Placé sous la direction de Philippe Herreweghe, l’ensemble Collegium Vocale Gent s’attaque au Cinquième livre de madrigaux de Gesualdo à Flagey. SONICO et l’Orquesta Tanguedia présentent à BOZAR une ode à Astor Piazzolla, grand maître du tango. La musique italienne de la renaissance et la joie de vivre argentine nous feront quelque peu oublier notre quotidien actuel.

Créations

Comment les artistes régissent-ils au monde dans lequel nous nous trouvons aujourd’hui ? Au cours des derniers mois, le Klarafestival a commandé de nouvelles œuvres à de nombreux artistes. Sound & Vision rassemble les résultats de sept duos – réunissant un compositeur et un artiste plasticien – ayant chacun développé leur propre projet audiovisuel. Anouk De Clercq, Frederik Croene, Wim Hendrickx et Eva-Maria Houben ne sont que quelques-uns des noms figurant au programme.


De oude woorden… marqueront la clôture du Klarafestival 2021. En collaboration avec le Passa Porta Festival, nous avons commandé au célèbre écrivain néerlandais Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer (auteur notamment de Grand Hotel Europa) l’écriture d’une nouvelle idylle. Habitant à Gênes, celui-ci a vécu en première ligne le début de la pandémie. À partir du long poème narratif de Pfeijffer, Frederik Neyrinck a composé une œuvre qui sera interprétée par plusieurs musiciens de l’ensemble I SOLISTI, la soprano Lore Binon et l’acteur Josse De Pauw.
 

Contexte

Dans les semaines à venir, vous retrouverez sur le site web du Klarafestival, en guise de programme, de nombreuses informations complémentaires sur ces spectacles numériques. À quoi vous attendre ? Des interviews, des podcasts ainsi qu’une série de vidéos sondant la façon dont les artistes concrétisent ce « es ist noch nicht alles verloren ».


En collaboration avec Muntpunt, le Klarafestival organise en outre un débat centré sur la signification de l’engagement personnel en période de crise. La compositrice Saskia Venegas, le spécialiste du climat et professeur à l’UCLouvain Jean-Pascal van Ypersele et Eka van Beeren, membre active du mouvement écologiste radical Extinction Rebellion, en débattent ensemble. Une composition de Saskia Venegas Aernouts sera interprétée en introduction au débat.


Consultez régulièrement notre site web et nos réseaux sociaux. Avec vous, nous sommes impatients de vivre ce qui s’annonce d’ores et déjà comme une édition unique du Klarafestival.